Cohen Memorial Hall has always been dedicated to the arts. The Beaux-Arts structure was given to Peabody College by Nashville art collector George Etta Brinkley Cohen as a hall for the fine arts. Completed in 1928, the building first housed the Peabody fine arts department and following that Vanderbilt art studio classes until the new E. Bronson Ingram Studio Arts Center was completed in 2005. Following renovations completed in 2009, Cohen Memorial became home to the Vanderbilt Fine Arts Gallery, the Department of History of Art and the Department of Classical Studies. The building¿s elegant interior boasts a grand staircase and mosaic marble floors and columns, among other striking features.
Learn more about Cohen's renovations: http://www.vanderbilt.edu/magazines/arts-and-science/2010-06/a-classic-move/